Lunchtime Yin Yoga ($10 Drop-In)


This class is taught by:

Emily Peterson

Formerly a competitive athlete, Emily Peterson began practicing yoga more than fifteen years ago in an attempt to manage chronic pain from injuries. While yoga was instrumental to her physical healing, Emily also discovered the power of yoga for practicing mindful acceptance. Emily's practice helped her learn to tolerate emotional discomfort and to stop struggling to change the present moment, thus opening up space for healing. For Emily, yoga offers an important meditative practice and the experience of a safe connection to her body, which were transformative and led to personal healing from an eating disorder, depression, and trauma.

Acting upon a deep desire to share with others, Emily began training with David Magone and obtained a 500-hour certification in PranaVayu Yoga. She additionally completed a Yin/Yang/Mindfulness intensive teacher training with Sarah Powers, as well as becoming a Usui Reiki Master, studying under the guidance of master teacher, Heather Smidt. She has also studied biomechanics and therapeutics extensively with Santosh Karmacharya. Emily discovered Suzanne Jones and yogaHope in the wake of the Boston Marathon bombing, and became a licensed facilitator for TIMBo (Trauma Informed Mind Body program). Emily holds a B.A. in applied psychology from University of Illinois-Chicago, where she began studying Buddhism and mindfulness, which are central to her life and to yoga. She has studied extensively with Lama Migmar Tseten, Buddhist Chaplain of Harvard University. One day soon she will write her thesis and earn a master’s degree in government.

Influenced by a tradition of somatic-based work, Emily believes in the bi-directional relationship between psychology and physiology—the mind influences the body and the body influences the mind. In truth, there is no way to separate the two, and when we think of them as two different, distinct entities, we create disharmony. Health is achieved when there is harmony between and respect for both the body and the mind. Emily practices and facilitates yoga with the belief that true well-being and wellness begin with understanding how our bodies have adapted and developed in response to our surroundings and relationships. In short, listening to the body and discerning its wisdom is where healing and peace lie.


Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Aug 23 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Aug 30 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Sep 06 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Sep 13 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Sep 20 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Sep 27 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Oct 04 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Oct 11 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Oct 18 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Oct 25 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Nov 01 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Nov 08 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Nov 15 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Nov 22 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Nov 29 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Dec 06 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Dec 13 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson
  • Wed Dec 20 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Emily Peterson